Canvas – Ottava Rima style!

 

p {
 margin-bottom: 1em;
}
Hello dear readers,

I was reading up again about various styles of poetry, and happened to come across the Ottava Rima. Sounds fancy, doesn’t it? 🙂 It is an Italian form of poetry, that was used by poets in 1300s to praise heroism,. and later, mock-heroism.

When written in English, the Ottava Rima has an 8-line stanza, with alternately rhyming lines and one double rhyme (abababcc). One of the features of the Ottava Rima is that each line should have a fixed syllable count of eleven. Definitely a challenge! 

Happy reading, guys.. here is my first ever Ottava Rima !

p {
 margin-bottom: 1em;
}

Canvas

Tingle my tired feet with sweet sensation

Sand nestled between my toes, so warm tonight

My neck adorns crystals of perspiration

The sea glows with an ethereal white light

Ravish my hair with rebellious abandon

Salt sprayed on my cheek; nature’s loving play-fight

Marvel the beauty of this canvas God paints

The Earth is perfection nobody can taint.

p {
 margin-bottom: 1em;
}

canvas

 

Dear readers,

Have you ever heard of the Ottava Rima style before? What did you think of it? There’s nothing a poet loves more than genuine feedback and critique… hope you will humour me! 🙂

4 thoughts on “Canvas – Ottava Rima style!

  1. Beautifully expressed!

    My work has intentionally been NOT informed by other styles. I enjoy reading them, but it was important to me to express my reality in a form IT CHOSE.

    That said, THIS IS AMAZINGLY BEAUTIFUL! I like the form, too, it’s quite elegant. I think I will experiment and see if I can accomplish something more structured that also SAYS SOMETHING.

    Haiku is another form I really enjoy reading, also sonnets — especially John Donne’s and Alexander Pope’s. Wow! You’ve got me thinking of artists I haven’t thought of in YEARS!

    Thank you for this O-So-Inspiring Post! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You’ve made my morning so happy, Noah!
      I do agree with you, it is important not to constrain yourself to a system and let the words flow. It definitely is not easy to stick to a syllable, word or verse parameter. It does take something away from your natural work at times.

      That being said, I found that some of the ancient forms of poetry are largely unknown and have been neglected. The triolet for example, was something I’d never even heard of before.. but it was so rewarding for me to write it 🙂

      I love haikus too, but in some ways they are the hardest! I always seem to have so many more words than the haiku’s parameters allow 🙂 But I’ll get there!

      Sonnets are amazing, they are definitely next on the cards.
      Really makes you think of the talents of yesteryears and how it has evolved over the generations.
      Thank you for reading and really hope to see you back ! Shall visit your blog more as well 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. It was amazing to me to discover (not long ago, actually) that the style I write in naturally is very close to the style that the ancient Irish Brehon Laws were written in, and also share some similarities with pre-Christian Welsh poetics. Hit me like a ton of bricks when I read some of the earliest examples. I had to sit down and have some tea!

        And thank you for visiting my blog! I really just wanted a space to put my poetry in case I end up where I was several years ago and my 15 volumes of my life’s work gets torched by some unhappy ex lover again. (I doubt it, but you never know!). HUGS!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

