Surreal – Pleaides style + A couplet

Strokes of paint streak my wall

Swim between blind conscience

Shades by which I abide

Stun my senses senseless

Simulate my mind’s eye

Shimmering in wetness

Soaking the air to dry

p {

margin-bottom: 0.2em;

}

Feel the texture between your fingers

Imagination sleeps within the grooves.

p {

margin-bottom: 0.2em;

}

Dear Readers,

Today I have experimented with an “invented” poetry form (as opposed to traditional poetry forms that I usually write). It is called Pleaides, and was created by Craig Tigerman in 1999. The rules are simply to start each line with the same first letter as the title (the letter here is “S”) 

I have also followed a six syllable count restriction per line on this form, which was placed by Hortensia Anderson, a famous haiku and tanka poet.

Since I always write atleast 8 lines, I have finished with a non-rhyming couplet. Hope you all enjoyed it and let me know what you think of this new style 🙂

4 thoughts on “Surreal – Pleaides style + A couplet

Leave a Reply

