Promise me – Tanka x 2

Fear and longing spin

Into a loose cotton ball.

In hope, take refuge

There’s comfort in the unknown,

Let fate do the talking now.

p {

margin-bottom: 0.1em; }

Sweet optimism,

Hold my disbelieving hand,

Walk me through shadows,

Carry my soul through this time

Keep your promise, I’ll keep mine.

p {

margin-bottom: 0.1em; }

Dear Readers,

You just read two Tankas. Remember the Tanka style? I’ve written one before in conjunction with a haiku. See it here. Just to refresh your memory, a tanka is a Japanese style of poetry with 5 lines with a syllable count of 5-7-5-7-7.

This post has been in response to Heeding Haiku with HA prompt from Mind Love Misery’s Menagerie’s blog. The topic was Mid Year and the rules were as follows:

You must have expected something or you must have made plans when this year began. Now that it is coming to its middle point, how are your expectations and plans coming along? Once you have thought about it, write a haiku or tanka or a haibun and tell us how this year has been so far for you.

Hope you all enjoyed it and looking forward to attempting more challenges in the coming days!

8 thoughts on “Promise me – Tanka x 2

  1. The first reminds me of ‘Fear No Art’… think about it.
    If there were no art, that would be a bland, bland world.
    The second – I think once optimism becomes a true friend it is easier to see art everywhere.

    Thanks for stopping by ~Jules

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Such thoughtful writing. I found the second tanka especially evocative.
    We look forward to your continuous participation at Heeding Haiku With HA. I am adding your link to the linking widget on your behalf. Have a good week ahead. 🙂
    -HA

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

