Untold – Lai style

What do I pray now?

Lost my will to vow

Be bold:

Fear, I can’t allow

Stand tall, do not bow.

Feel old

Wrinkles trail my brow

Must move on, but how?

Untold.

p

{ margin-bottom: 0.5em; }

Dear Readers,

It’s been awhile since I explored a new style of poetry.. I’ve missed it! After writing a few free verses, it is always a challenge to go back to poems with fixed parameters. However, it is rewarding enough when you accomplish it, to want to do it again!

The style of poetry I have attempted above is the Lai style. It is an old French style of poetry.

Each stanza of the poem has 9 lines with rhyming scheme of :

a a b a a b a a b

The ‘a‘ s here are all 5 syllables each and the ‘b‘ s have to be 2 syllables each (and rhyme with each other). The construction of the poem is referred to as Arbre Fourchu (forked tree) which is what it looks like when you complete it 🙂

Hope you enjoyed this interesting form, and let me know what you think!

Reference : www.poetsgarret.com 

Leave a Reply

