Lump in my throat – Senryu x 3

Casting my eyes down

I can only hear their sound

Hum to block it out

p {
margin-bottom: 0.2em;

I’ve got a problem

But I can’t face it just yet

Twiddle my fingers

p {
margin-bottom: 0.2em;

Dear lump in my throat,

Would you kindly go away?

Sometimes I can’t breathe.

p {
margin-bottom: 0.2em;

Dear Readers,

This style of poetry is known as a Senryu. This is a Japanese style that is very similar to the haiku in that it is non-rhyming and has a syllable count of 5/7/5. The difference between the two forms is that the Haiku is mostly regarding nature and seasons, where as the Senryu, is written about human nature (usually in the present tense). 

The Senryu is only 3 lines long, I have written three senryus here.

I have attempted a Senryu before, you can read it here. I was just reading about it this morning and decided to try it again.

There’s always a special place in my heart for Japanese poetry. There is so much complexity and depth in short simple sentences.. it really entices the reader to think without exhausting them with text (not that I don’t love long poems). 

Have a great day everyone 🙂

2 thoughts on “Lump in my throat – Senryu x 3

Leave a Reply

