2 years

Dear husband, we started with jitters

Walking awkwardly down the aisle together

Vows with quivering voices

Rings tucked in with shaking hands.

Dear Husband, remember those early shouting matches?

Bitter tears at 4 AM, hours of silence before an apology

We learned what we are made of, fought ourselves to forgive

Dear Husband, we’re still smoothing out our tempers

Agreeing to disagree, letting our love defeat our egos

Two years, we have seen happiness and loss

Triumphs and failures; sailing high and on our knees

Through it all, all I know, is this:

Even at your wo3rst

You are the best that God ever gave me

I love you, dear

Happy Anniversary.

Dear Readers,

Today is the 19th day of the OctPoWriMo Poetry Writing Challenge 2015. The prompt today was as follows:

“Each line of the poem starts with “Dear (name)”
You get one line to say something to an ex or some significant love, example I did my ex boyfriend, my high school crushes, my (then) current boyfriend, my childhood love, etc”

I haven’t followed the prompt to the tee, considering that its our wedding anniversary today. I just wanted to write a simple poem for my husband 🙂

Hope you enjoyed it,

Till tomorrow,

2PP

P.S: Happy Anniversary, sweetheart, I can see you smile when you’re reading this ❤ 🙂

20 thoughts on “2 years

Leave a Reply

