Twenty eight

Twenty eight years ago

A tiny cell was formed

Multiplying and growing slowly

From the size of a lentil to a watermelon

After 9 months, on a Friday in October

The little pumpkin decided to meet her parents

Off she came after much pushing and pulling

With loud screams into this wonderful world

The mischievous toddler who ate a whole bottle of jam

A quiet pre-teen trying desperately to fit in

Awkward teenager with confidence issues

Early twenties full of confusion and bad decisions

Late twenties, now, I’m at peace with myself

In the grand scheme of things

I’m but a speck in this galaxy

All anyone wants is to be remembered

That’s all I ask of you today

Remember me

Carry some vague memory of me in your heart

So that I may live through you, in some capacity

Thank you dear readers, for your kindness and grace

Happy birthday to me

🙂

Dear Readers,

Today is the 23rd day of the OctPoWriMo Poetry Writing Challenge. And yes! It is my birthday today 😀

The prompt today fit in very well with a birthday theme, it was as follows:

“Anyways today I’m thinking about the greatness and smallness of things in comparison to each other. Also about how small things fit as pieces to a whole.

It’s all around, forest fires start from sparks, oceans are made of water drops. (There I go again with my element loving) but look around and take a moment to observe how the clothes you wear are made of tiny threads and the vastness of the sky. Try to count some of the billions of stars outside at night and realize that most of those are bigger than the sun, and there’s SO many of them. But you’re not just this tiny speck in space, you are a beautiful combination of tiny pieces of matter put together in a truly unique way.

Today I encourage you to think about those things as you write your poem of the day”

Till tomorrow,

2PP

19 thoughts on “Twenty eight

  1. Ohhh, I’m all teary, and wish I could give you a HUGE HUG–Happy Birthday to you! Of course you will stay in my heart’s memory–how could you not?!! Now this might make you laugh–yesterday I wasn’t imagining today was your birthday…I was thinking you would announce that you’re expecting your own baby! Much Love Always–God bless you MOST Abundantly! xxoo, Jael

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Many many happy returns of the day..:-) A belated wish though but I was away from the blogging world for a few days. I’m a Bengali and we were having our biggest festival, Durga Puja 😀 You can have glimpses of the great festival on my blog… 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

