Liquid Ruby

Reaching under her tucked up sleeves

I tap and palpate, trying to track

The vein I need to puncture desperately

I trace it with my nails

Like some drug addicted fanatic

Who can’t wait for the next high

Throwing her head back, she closes her eyes

Grimacing with the dread of weary anticipation

I maintain the facade of nervous apathy.

The aperture of my needle slips through

Despite the lack of confidence, jittery hands

I feel the soft resistance of spirit soaked skin.

Tourniquet as tight as a whalebone corset,

Blood flows thickly, filling the clear syringe.

My chest swells with empyreal pride

Of a blood crow that discovers the purest liquid ruby

Pooling beneath the rubble of a tortuous battlefield

I wipe the sweat of relief from my brow

Every doctor must have a first time after all.

 

 

 

liquidruby

 

Dear Readers,

Its prompt time again! πŸ™‚ Here’s my response to Wordle #88 by Mind Love Misery’s Menagerie

Here are the words we were given:

1.Vein

2. Track

3. Throw

4. Fanatic

5. Bloodcrow (a person who scavenges battlefields for treasure)

6. Nails

7. Reach

8. Aperture (an opening, as a hole, slit, crack, gap, etc.)

9. Apathy

10. Dread

11. Whalebone (an elastic, horny substance growing in place of teeth in the upper jawΒ ofcertain whales, and forming a series of thin, parallel plates on eachΒ side of the palate;Β a thin strip of this substance, for stiffening a corset.)

12. Empyreal (pertaining to the sky; celestial: empyreal blue,Β pertaining to the highestΒ heaven in theΒ cosmology of the ancients. Formed of pure fire or light: empyrealΒ radiance.)

Use at least 10 of the words to create a story or poem

Thanks for reading everyone πŸ™‚

29 thoughts on “Liquid Ruby

      1. I’m a dentist.. so yes.. injections are definitely a part of the job. I do remember my first time giving an injection.. was definitely nerve wracking but also a big high :p Nutrition is great! Are you a dietitian? Its so weird to think we all have alternate lives and professions, but so cool too πŸ™‚

        Like

      2. I know I would be! Oh cool! I don’t have a PH.D or anything magnificent I have a disability called Dyscalculia which effects my ability to understand numbers and my spatial reasoning it is quite severe in my case and so I had a very hard time with the math which meant I could not go as far as I wanted. I have a bachelors in Nutrition and Dietetics. I would also have a degree in Psychology if not for the statistic classes (couldn’t understand stats at all I am afraid, I got through the first two levels with extensive tutoring but the next two levels were too much). It is is weird I always think we are writers living as writers even though very few people do or can live as such

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Dyscalculia.. sounds really difficult. I’m glad you got around it and completed your degree. Its admirable that you pushed through your obstacles.
        Its not weird to view ourselves as writers or poets.. but its definitely a bit of a professional identity crisis. Hardly anyone in my real life knows that I write πŸ™‚

        Like

      4. I have to admit I don’t really share my work with many real life people. My husband reads my poems sometimes and one of his sisters ordered my book but the people who read my blog are people I met along the way, other writers. It is, being 35 and still struggling to tell time? Getting lost constantly even in very familiar places, it doesn’t even really make sense sometimes.

        Liked by 1 person

      5. I’m the same.. My husband is my biggest (and only) fan :p He reads most of my poems and will ask me what it means with a smile πŸ™‚ Dyscalculia sounds like a real struggle, I’ve never met anybody with this.. shows how different we all are, doesn’t it. Maybe what you missed with numbers you got a thousand fold over with words.. ? πŸ™‚

        Like

      6. That is so sweet, my husband also asks me to explain certain sections and sometimes the poem as a whole. I do not think it is particular common, Dyscalculia is a development disorder. I have had an IQ/achievement test and the difference between my math/spatial reasoning and verbal skills is gigantic so you are probably right. I had to compensate somehow to get through school!

        Liked by 1 person

  1. “My chest swells with empyreal pride

    Of a blood crow that discovers the purest liquid ruby

    Pooling beneath the rubble of a tortuous battlefield” <– pure lyrical awesomeness right there. The whole poem is spine-tingling, edge of your seat with great detail and emotion.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. The more effortless it seems, the more effort that went into it πŸ˜› Hehe, you’re a brilliant writer, Jael.. You should write a poem about the colours of christmas. No one describes colours in poetry like you do!

        Like

  2. Blood is all good when it’s inside and it’s terrifying when it’s leaked…First time I practically feel it’s a treasure.. reading this line πŸ™‚ …”Of a blood crow that discovers the purest liquid ruby”

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

