Rise from the ashes – Diatelle form

Grief

Forsake

Push the brake

Give life a chance

There’s not much you can’t take

Shake out of your misery trance

Rise from the ashes of your long term plans

In the grand scheme of things, our time here is so brief

Why wait on the sidelines, when you can dance?

The only thing you can change, is your stance

Happiness, you can make

Progress, advance

Fear: let’s break

That fake

Thief

p

{ margin-bottom: 0.3em; }

Dear Readers,

I chose this style of poetry, thinking that it looked interesting and fun. Now, I have a headache :p 

Jokes aside, this was one of the hardest styles I have tried till date, which is saying a lot. Looking at the end result, I’m fairly happy with what I’ve achieved after following all the parameters 🙂

This is the Diatelle form, developed by Bradley Vrooman. Basically, the poem has 15 lines with a fixed syllable form and rhyme scheme. The syllable count for each line goes like this 1-2-3-4-6-8-10-12-10-8-6-4-3-2-1 (making a diamond shape) and the rhyme scheme (!) is abbcbccaccbcbba.

This form reminds me of a Diamante and an Etheree, both of which I have attempted (and were easier). 

I implore you to read this poem twice.. not for any particular reason, other than that it took a lot of effort to write :p And, if you find any mistakes in the syllable count or rhyme scheme.. close your eyes and turn the other way XD

Have a great day!

Reference: www.shadowpoetry.com

7 thoughts on “Rise from the ashes – Diatelle form

    1. Oh don’t tell me.. I doubt I could ever do it again. Had a headache the whole day 😛 But yes, I can say I wrote it once! Thanks Maniparna for reading.. appreciate it a lot.

      Like

Leave a comment